A running qualification

There I was, setting up an arty photo to show off my coaching badge and Cat decided to get in on the act. Good grief.
There I was, setting up an arty photo to show off my coaching badge and Cat decided to get in on the act. Good grief.

If someone had said to me five years ago as I coughed and spluttered my first ever run which didn’t even clock one kilometre that I’d consider 10kms a short training trip and ten miles my favourite distance, I would have laughed in their face, once I’d managed to catch my breath, that is. Which would have taken some time.

Now after a year of great enjoyable, though challenging, running I have not only completed half marathons ten-milers, 10kms, mudfests and enough5km parkruns to get my 50 Club teeshirt, I’ve only gone and got myself an England Athletics qualification. Yes, dear incredulous reader, I am now a LIRF (Leader in Running Fitness).

That means that after a day of running-related exercises in a chilly athletics stadium and giving a couple of coaches a serious listening to (that was the hardest part) I can now lead a running group. Thank goodness I can lead from the back, because I’m not the fastest.

My lovely running club Eccleshill Road Runners put this to good use and asked me to take our new runners group. Noel, being the supportive type, offered to come along as a tail runner. The group is ladies (no gents yet!) who want to take their first running steps with someone who won’t tell them they are rubbish, or get are impatient when they have to stop for a rest. I certainly won’t do that, in fact am thrilled that they are giving it a go with such enthusiasm. We’re now in week two and they not only come back, they want extra sessions. Oh my goodness I must be doing something right.

It is a great pleasure to share a passion and enthusiasm with people who are where I was five years ago. The only question now is…what next?!

2 thoughts on “A running qualification

Leave a Reply

