Knitting up a yarn

Knitting and nattering in the library
Knitting and nattering in the library

What with electronic faffery and bargain basement supermarket paperbacks costing less than the price of a bag of sugar, it’s little wonder that folk have fallen out of love with local libraries. All I can say is thank goodness for knitting, because it could turn out to be their salvation.

We have a lovely library in our village, it’s open at rather random hours, due to council cut-backs, some days it doesn’t even open at all and I’m left pressing my nose against the glass and leaving an unsightly smudge. The books are a bit dog-eared and, how shall I put it, classic rather than modern, but it’s ours and we love it.

It was a couple of years ago that the then librarian at Calverley had the idea of setting up a knitting club. I’d like to say she was an inspired and gifted knitter, daughter of King Knit himself Kaffe Fassett, but it would be a great big lie, told in attempt to make my blog more interesting than it is. I’m afraid I don’t even know her name, but I do know that what she has started has become a thriving community of clicking needles, wool creations, new friendships and a remedy for loneliness. It is also a repository of knowledge of all things local, I won’t say gossip, because it isn’t, it’s more of a local history resource.

I popped along yesterday to join in and give them a right good listening to. It’s not often I can’t get a word in edgeways, though I was glad to sit back and hear the stories of remarkable lives, the goings-on in the parallel cat universe where pets have weird and wonderful adventures and somewhere in there the stark reality of getting older.

As the needles clicked, plans were made. The Knitwits (their name, not mine!) have made blankets for the Dogs Trust and teeny tiny jackets for premature babies. Their latest woolly challenge was knitted mince pies to throw at Santa. Don’t ask, but you can be sure I’ll be there with my camera to record it. They also set up stall and sell their creations using the balls and balls of donated wool – look out for them at the  Festival of Light in the Methodist Church Schoolroom on November 30.

The Knitwits meet every other Monday in the library, on a good day, there’s cake, real, not knitted, and there’s always tea and good company. And visitors to the library looking for books will always be able to find a good yarn. I’ll get my (knitted) coat.

Leave a Reply

