The buzz of half marathon training

Less than a week to go, so it’s time to take stock of my training for Sunday’s little jaunt around the Lakeland fells. Here we go:

  • Long, longer and even longer runs. Check, though note to self, must make sure I don’t take a detour ‘because that little tarn over there looks nice’ or ‘I wonder where that goes….’ Result, a ten-miler became a 12-miler.
  • Hills, hills and more hills. Check check check
  • FartlekingCheck. Though there’s been more farting than leking, which I’m assured by Noel is the sign of a healthy constitution
  • Rest day. Check. Expert level reached on this.
  • Running around the garden at high speed, changing direction, waving arms and exclaiming ‘agh, agh, AGHHHH!!’ Check

That last element of the training is particularly good for dodging around in the Lakeland undergrowth, stretching my vocal chords in case I get lost and have to shout (highly likely) and keeping arms flexible for climbing out of ditches (50-50 chance). So I’m grateful to the wasps who set up their nest behind the shed door and scared the life out of me by buzzing in my face when I opened it. Without them, I wouldn’t have covered the entire length of the garden in one leap. I’m thinking that every training programme should have a wasps’ nest, it definitely gave me a buzz.

Additional training at the Red Welly Relay, Leeds parkrun. The wellies are the batons, it was girls against boys, 25 in each team running 200 metres each. The boys won, we woz robbed!
Additional training at the Red Welly Relay, Leeds parkrun. The wellies are the batons, it was girls against boys, 25 in each team running 200 metres each. The boys won, we woz robbed!

2 thoughts on “The buzz of half marathon training

  1. Julie Steele

    Good Luck to both of you for Sunday, I’m sure the pictures will be breathtaking, can’t wait to see them! We will definitely have to get an away day organised up to the lakes!

Leave a Reply

