A win is a win!

The winners! I'm not sure we'll ever be able to say that again!
The winners! I’m not sure we’ll ever be able to say that again!

As we lined up at the start, I was confident of one thing, I would be in the top ten finishers, well there were only that number of runners. But looking at the competition, it was clear that I would probably also be the tenth.

So it was with some surprise that I wasn’t last and when the prizes were handed out, I was top of my age category – and I wasn’t even the only one in it! Noel completed the Akers double by winning his, though he WAS the only one! 

It was an even bigger surprise to get lost on Pudsey and Bramley AC’s Rush Around the Rhubarb trail run, which is so close to home we walked there as a warm-up. I mean, really, how hard can it be to run just short of 6km on familiar ground? Not hard at all, it turns out, they just weren’t the right 6km.  

The club, its most famous member being Boff Whalley, of Chumbawumba, though most recently as author of Run Wild, where he writes about his experience as a gnarly fell runner. Boff was one of the marshalls and knew exactly where to send us, which was more than could be said for a couple of the others who hadn’t quite got it right when directing us across fields,   At one point we spotted another runner going in the opposite direction and then climbing over a fence. We soon had to do the same and were amazed to find others were behind us, especially as I was even slower than usual last night.

But, hey, we all got to run, have fun, have a laugh and, as our club captain pointed out, a win is a win. And we’ll definitely be doing it again next year!

2 thoughts on “A win is a win!

Leave a Reply

