When nearly last isn’t bad at all

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It’s not about the winning, it’s the taking part. I know that actually for many people it IS about the winning and to hell with the taking part, but when I entered a seven-mile race, lined up next to some of Yorkshire’s finest, I knew the only class I would win was for veteran women with the initials AA. And so I did!

The Kirkstall Abbey Seven took 150 runners through woodland paths, along the canal side and across cobbled bridges on a sunny Sunday morning. The marshalls encouraged and cheered every one of us. I’d have thought they would have lost their voices by the time runner 149 passed them (that was me by the way). But no, the cheering got louder. I think they knew my initials were AA and I was certain of a prize.

Leave a Reply

