Every coffee tells a story

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Every coffee tells a story, not just the delicious aroma, fabulous flavour and kick-ass double shot of caffeine-laced liquor. Every coffee has its time and place, its own Harry Potter’s wand of priori incancato as each sip recalls where it was drunk, with whom and the spell it cast.

My name is Anne and I am a coffeeholic. For the past 18 months, everywhere I go, every coffee I drink and every new coffee experience I have is photographed and recorded for my caffeine-fueled diary. Well, not quite every coffee, just the interesting ones, or those best forgotten.

It started out as just a bit of fun, the camera on the phone was quick and easy to use and it was oh so irresistable to then send the image to a friend via text, especially if I was in some wonderful, exotic, out-of-the-way place, which wasn’t very often. Friends returned the compliment and suddenly there was a whole social network of coffee-related activiy, our very own kaffeeklatsch.

The coffee story became coffee art as I made photo mosaics using the very clever open source programme Andrea Mosaic. Andrea, who’s based in Italy, like any open source developer, was chuffed to hear I’d used his program to produce art, with a couple of the mosaics going on show earlier this year. I even made a donation to help him continue his work which, if I know programmers, he’ll convert into caffeine, helping to start the coffee cycle all over again.

Barristas and coffee shop owners are either puzzled, interested or worried when they see the mad red-haired woman arranging their coffee, cups and cakes on the tray, floor or windowsill before photographing them. Those who are interested want to know how their coffee scores and I do keep a mental note of who’s best and who’s best to avoid.

So far, here in Leeds, the best is definitely Opposite, with a cafe opposite the Parkinson Building at the university and in the Victoria Quarter and Laynes near the railway station. And the worst? Somewhere in Armley who should have known better.

4 thoughts on “Every coffee tells a story

  1. Pingback: Leeds today: vintage cars, community grants, football, coffee and Pride! | Beyond Guardian Leeds

  2. What a good idea. I have done a similar thing with each bottle of wine I make, but I don’t have photos – just narrative. Your photos are excellent. I love the lonely coffee on the escalator.

  3. Pingback: Photograph of Coffee Break at National Archives and Records Service (NARS) Conference in the Late 1970s | MargayCoffee.com

Leave a Reply

