Taking precautions

The madness started in February. A 10k run, the Dewsbury 10k to be precise. My first ever. I didn't even run that distance at school and that was a LONG time ago.

So I became click happy. Clicking on the Runners' World 'enter this race' button. Well, it seemed like a good idea at the time and as I only got a tee-shirt for the Dewsbury Race, I'm desperate for a medal. The last medal I got was for ballroom dancing and that was so long ago were were still using pounds, shillings and pence.

Now the next race is upon us – tomorrow. The Apperley Bridge Canter – I think the organisers wanted to make it as simple as ABC. Unfortunately no medal, but I will get to add to tee-shirt collection if I do it – and I will, though I won't be in the top few hundred!

We did a 10k training run on Saturday and, as it was a warm day, I donned shorts. Those knotted pieces of string were on display to the world. Bad idea. Good for the legs, bad for the chafage. It's the friction, you see. All I can say is thank goodness the chafage stopped there with the help of a sturdy sports bra. I was walking John Wayne-style for a whole day, much to the amusement of our dinner guests that evening.

My good running friend had only one word for me. Vaseline. It's either that or run in tights.

Tights it is, then.

Today's lovely thing
Hearing from an old friend – and making a lunch date.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

One thought on “Taking precautions

Leave a Reply

