A fine way to spend a weekend


Grace and poise?
Originally uploaded by StripeyAnne.

When you live an hour from one of the finest rock climbing venues in England and possibly the world, it would be rude not to go there at every possible opportunity.

For non rock-climbers, this gritstone edge stretches for six kilometres through the Peak District National Park. It's impressive to just walk along the tops, but for climbers, it's a Mecca

It's not high – maybe 30metres at its highest, so it has nothing on Yosemite, but the rough, rounded gritstone, which is a hardened sandstone, presents a technical challenge and attracts climbers from all over the world.

Here I am struggling up a climb called Kirkus' Corner. I'd like to say I was fantastic and wowed the admiring audience,. but I ran out of strength and, thank goodness, the only witnesses were friends who had the tact and good manners not to tell me I'd fluffed it. They didn't need to – I knew that already! And practice makes perfect!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

3 thoughts on “A fine way to spend a weekend

  1. That's you!? What a great picture! That is so amazing that you can do that.
    I've never really been afraid of heights per se but the older I get, the more apprehensive I get.
    Funny you should mention Yosemite, I live about 2 1/2 hours from Yosemite and I've actually never been. Your post, and photo, have inspired me to plan a trip to Yosemite with the kids this summer! :}

  2. This is indeed me – and my how my arms ached afterwards! The stone is
    coarse grit and you get a rash which we affectionately call gritstone
    rash. You don't notice it until you get into the shower and
    then….agh!!!!

    I'm amazed you haven't been to Yosemite. I think it's my favourite
    place in all the world. It's crowded in the valley, but you soon get
    away from the crowds. And you don't need to climb. You MUST take the kids – hike up the Yosemite
    Falls or to Glacier Point. Ooooo, I wish I were going!

  3. I actually just talked to my parents about taking their motor-home to Yosemite with us and my dad's first comment was, "There's nothing to do there." ?! I don't know if I'm brave enough to drive the motor-home there by myself, but the kids and I could certainly just pack a tent and some sleeping bags! :}

Leave a Reply

